Jason Barrett

Assistant Extension Professor

Specialty Area: Community Development, Economics & Natural Resources, Water & Wastewater Utilities

Email: jason.barrett@msstate.edu

Jason Barrett headshot


Dr. Jason R. Barrett is originally from Bobo, MS, a small farming community south of Clarksdale, MS. He now resides in Starkville, MS where he began his Mississippi State University Extension career as a graduate assistant in the Food and Fiber Center. Dr. Barrett went on to work for the Agricultural Economics Department as an Extension Associate and furthered his career as an Extension Instructor with the Center for Government and Community Development (GCD). At the GCD, Dr. Barrett is an Assistant Extension Professor where he specializes in public utilities (water and wastewater), private well education and screening, and leading the Mississippi Well Owner Network. Other research interests include the finance and economic development factors associated with water and waste water utilities.

Dr. Barrett is a certified water and wastewater operator in the state of Mississippi. In 2016 and 2017, he served as the Educational Chairman for the Alabama/Mississippi Section of American Water Works Association (AL/MS AWWA). After being elected to the board of the AL/MS AWWA at the 2017 Annual Conference in Point Clear, Alabama, Dr. Barrett will serve a five year commitment until he is Chairman in 2021. In 2017, Dr. Barrett was elected to the board of the Mississippi Association of County Agricultural Agents (MACAA) as the 2nd Vice President and will serve as President in 2020. From 2009 to 2017, Dr. Barrett served as the Kappa Alpha Order Providence Commander which is a national advisory council for the collegiate fraternity. In 2015, he was elected to serve on the Division of Agriculture, Forestry, and Veterinary Medicine (DAFVM) Faculty Senate where he served as Vice Chair in 2016-2017 academic year and as the Chairman for the 2017-2018 academic year. He was elected to serve on the Mississippi State University Robert Holland Faculty Senate for a three year term beginning in August 2018.